When Your Friend Finds A New Friend

The age old problem of growing up is losing old friends and gaining new ones, but does it really have to be like that?

It’s happened to all of us, I’m sure. In fact it’s happened to me quite a few times and it’s happening again. I would say the primary feeling is jealousy with a hint of annoyance. But I’m trying to treat this time differently.

In the past when I’ve felt friends getting closer to other people and noticed a drop in our communication and just the fact of not hanging out together regularly, I’ve just let them go. A lot of the time I’ve not even tried to keep them close because I usually feel like they’re moving forward in life and I’m stuck in the same spot.

This time, even though I still feel as though I’m in the same spot (at least this time I feel like I’m shuffling along), I’m trying hard not to feel those jealous and annoyance emotions. Well I still feel them but I try to change my attitude towards it. For example, the main time frame when this happened to me recently was when I was distancing myself from friends to discover myself and think ‘what do I want?’. So I changed that emotion of jealousy to thankful – I took time to myself and my friend was able to fill my gap with somebody else.

I mean it’s not always easy but it happens. The most important thing is maintaining contact if you want them in your life. And 9 times out of 10 they gain that new friend to fill certain things you don’t like or can’t do. So if that’s the case in your situation then maybe you can keep that point in view in mind. Maybe their friendship offers something different to yours it’s not comparable, they’re both unique experiences and your friend wants the best of both worlds.

Have you experienced this before? I’d love to hear your stories and if you’ve personally brought it up with the friend in question.

– ME

“Who’s gonna walk you through the dark side of the morning?”
– Selena Gomez

Leave a Reply

