Songs of July 2017

Here are the songs I’ve been listening to this month;

James Arthur – Safe Inside; This guy has done no wrong since ‘Say You Won’t Let Go’ he has a great voice and his lyrics are some of my favourite.

Haim – Something to Tell You; The beat, the melody, the lyrics, the singers ARGHH I just love it all. Please if you check one song out make it this one!

Haim – Want You Back; You’d think a repetitive song would be annoying well there is only one band who can get away with it in most of their songs and that’s these girls. The video clip is so simple and one of my favourites this year.

Selena Gomez – Fetish; Speaking of video clips, I love the audio video for this song. I have actually previously thought of recording myself singing a few times and only recording the bottom half of my face but that’s another story. Really fun song, catchy and a players anthem!

Linkin Park – Breaking the Habit; With the unfortunate passing of Chester, I have been listening to some old Linkin Park hits, this being one of my favourites. I feel their songs are quite heavy and there’s a lot of meaning in them.

Missy Higgins – Everyone’s Waiting; Ahh one of Australia’s finest musicians. This song is all about the pressures you feel from people around you. Even if it isn’t the case, sometimes you get the sense that you moving slowly is affecting the people around you.

Jessica Mauboy – Falling; Another Australian idol (literally – she was runner up in the 3rd season of the show). The first time I heard this song I thought it was Ariana Grande. If Jessica was an American I think she’d be a worldwide name by now, this girl has talent!

Kesha – Praying; I’ve only heard this song a few times, but the first time I heard it on the radio I had to shazam it. The first sign to knowing you will like a song is when you Shazam it, the second sign is when you Shazam it again a day later. It’s so raw and heartfelt and real, this is Kesha’s song and the lyrics, her own. Great comeback, hoping for more.

Demi Lovato – Sorry Not Sorry; Some people call Beyonce – Queen but if I was going to call anyone Queen it would be Demi. She has made this song as a big ‘screw you’ to haters and it’s just fun and jumpy, really great song for the Summer (although it’s Winter here..)

Ed Sheeran – Perfect; Ed can do no wrong! How can one person have hit after hit, it should be illegal. Beautifully written and sung, leaves you hoping someone will write a song about you. I feel it becoming a wedding song for many.

– ME

“Will you call me to tell me you’re alright?, ’cause I worry about you the whole night”
– James Arthur

Leave a Reply

