HAIM in Concert!

If you follow my blog then you know the one thing I love most are concerts. If you don’t follow my blog but also love concerts you should definitely keep me in mind! This past Thursday I went to see a little American sister band named Haim, Pronounced hy-em, like the Hebrew word for life. I believe it was there first show in Australia and Sydney for that matter and it was held in a small venue called the Enmore Theatre and it was a sold out show!

Whilst Haim have had a few radio hits – they featured on Calvin Harris’ hit Pray to God which is probably their most known – I didn’t think they would be that popular so I was quite surprised on the night to see so many people, and even more surprised by the enthusiasm of the crowd, as were the girls based on their agog expressions. 

These girls deliver in spades they sound exactly the same live as they do on record, which is always a major relief. They ooze coolness! I couldn’t take my eyes off Danielle the entire night simply because she was electric on guitar, amazing on the vocals and ridiculous on the drums. Not to leave out Este and Alana from that, they were all those things too but Danielle makes it look effortless and has an almost angelic stance – with the odd rocker moves front of stage.

They sang some of the older stuff, the stuff that made me love their music in the first place – Forever, The Wire, If I Could Change Your Mind. And treated us to some songs off the new album which some were playing for the first time live to a crowd. It was incredible to see their reaction to us as fans. I’ve been to a few concerts now and I can’t remember any band or singer being so speechless and honestly surprised at how the crowd was so engaged. In fact, even I was taken aback by it. Even though I rate Coldplay as one of the best crowd atmospheres because everyone knows the classics and there’s so many people that you get goosebumps when the crowd sings acapella, it delivered even more at HAIM, it’s actually really hard to describe it. I think the point I picked up on was that each and every song that the girls sung had everyone singing along to it, and that was surprising. The sold out show felt as if it was in a bigger arena, that the girls had been around for years and had a worldwide audience as big as Adele’s. There smooth tones and 80’s vibes really struck a cord with Australians and I’m happy to predict a return of the sisters in Sydney, and likely other states too.

– ME

“Cause I got something to tell you, but I don’t know why, It’s so hard to let you know that we’re not seeing eye to eye”
– HAIM

Leave a Reply

