Songs of May 2017

It was hard not to make this months songs all about Eurovision, but I tried really hard, I only selected my two favourites because I had other songs I really wanted to mention. So here they are;

Camila Cabello – I Have Questions; This song is SO strong. You know you love a song when you’ve barely heard half of it and already nodding your head along to it. I can guarantee this song will be in my top 5 ‘Songs of 2017’ at the end of the year. I was never overly into Fifth Harmony, I liked their music but didn’t ever learn more about the members so I don’t know all that much about Camila. This song has given me an inside into the pain in her life and her ability to convey it through song. Her vocals are so strong and believable and it’s almost more of a spoken word poetry I feel. Love this song!

Salvador Sobral – Amar Pelos Dois; The Eurovision winner! What a soft and delicate ballad. It’s beautiful and pure and Salvador just makes it magical, it’s visibly clear how the music moves him. It’s what makes it work regardless of language, you might not know what he is saying but you know what you should be feeling because he’s so emotive. Love, Love, Love.

Martin Garrix & Dua Lipa – Scared To Be Lonely; I had this is my top 10 last month but I had only just started hearing it. This month I really listened to it and it’s just perfect. I love the lyrics and how honest they are, especially in this generation, mixed with an electric pop beat it’s so easy to get stuck in your head. And Dua Lipa’s voice just uhh! love it.

Frances – Say It Again; In the past I’ve listened to some of Frances stuff and instantly loved it, and this was no different. It has a sort of Ellie Goulding feel to it. It’s soft but punchy on the chorus and bloody addictive!

Lady Gaga – The Cure; When I first heard this, the first few lines to be exact, I actually thought it was Ariana Grande. I don’t think it sounds like a Lady Gaga song, at least until the chorus. But then again she’s always trying new things with music and that’s one of the reasons I enjoy hearing her new stuff, you don’t know what you’re going to get. I would describe this song as raw and direct. There’s no facade our subliminal messages it’s just “Hey, I’m here, always” which I think we all need to hear once in a while.

Joci Pápai – Origo; Another Eurovision song, one which deserved to finish a lot higher than it did. It’s so soothing! A lot of the start of this song is just Joci singing with no instrumental and it’s almost haunting. Again you might not know what he’s saying but you can feel it, you feel pain, deceit but then empowerment. Eurovision show’s you don’t need to know what the words mean in a song because you have a beat and melody to tell the story.

Miley Cyrus – Malibu; Miley’s back! This is the kind of song I love hearing her voice in. It’s country-ish but still pop, simple no unnecessary bits and pieces to over complicate what is a beautiful song. It reminds me of her ‘Jolene’ cover which is one of my favourite things I’ve ever heard from her, and also a song she had a while back called ‘Stay’ they just showcase her great voice.

Haim – Right Now; These three sisters have so much talent it should be illegal. Honestly their style reminds me of 80’s mixed with 90’s. I didn’t know how I would feel about this song because of the repetitiveness of ‘right now’ but when I found myself singing it throughout my day I realised I must like it. They are just great story tellers, and I’ll be seeing them live in a few months which I am very excited for!

Ed Sheeran – Galway Girl; Such a great Irish vibe to it very very catchy! I just love Ed as a lyricist he does it perfectly and what feels effortless, I feel like he could come up with a song in 5 minutes and it would go global. This being no different.

Biffy Clyro – Re-Arrange; The last Biffy Clyro song I heard was ‘Mountains’ and then one day I heard this song on the radio and ‘Shazamed’ it and found out it was by them. It sounds different, a lot more calm and soft. I just really like it, it’s a feel good song. Interesting lyrics “I would never break your heart, I would only re-arrange all the other working parts, will stay in place” it’s such a different approach.

Let me know what songs you liked this month, your favourite lyric from them and if you like any of these songs I’ve mentioned!

– ME

“Do you care, do you care? Why don’t you care? I gave you all of me my blood, my sweat, my heart, and my tears. Why don’t you care, why don’t you care?
– Camila Cabello

Leave a Reply

