Sydney Royal Easter Show 2017

If you’ve never heard of the Easter Show I’m going to assume you’re not from Australia because I think everybody in Australia would know what an Easter Show consists of. In saying that let me explain a little for those who don’t know what it is.

The Royal Easter Show is an annual event where country meets city, it happens in different states at different times but this year the Sydney show went from April 6th – 19th. It involves a mix of animals, fun shows, pop culture, weird food and of course show-bags. So basically it’s a big festival type situation with a bunch of stalls, pavilions, animal competitions, horse shows, rides, games, toys and pretty much anything you can think of. It’s a fun day where the majority of people are just happy! Unless of course you’re not into the whole pop culture sometimes rubbish filled show-bags because I know a lot of people dislike that part BUT it’s a novelty experience that’s what I say!

I love the Easter Show and used to go a lot as a child then kind of stopped, I did go last year and remembered how much fun it was but this year was a little bit different in that I was working there. Yep, this year I worked during the main entertainment which involved A LOT of running up and down stairs and making sure people were in seats and not in aisles/stairs. If you told me 3-4weeks ago what my role would involve I wouldn’t believe I would be able to do it, but I did. I grew in confidence during the easier days and by the crazy over 100,000 attendance days I smashed that! I can legitimately say I was proud of myself, I am proud of myself for the first time in a very long time.
It was really fun being on the opposite side of the event and trying to make it a happy experience for others. It was also the first time I watched the main entertainment because my family usually skipped that part. I made a few acquaintances but I made one awesome friend, we just clicked straight away she’ll definitely be my one main memory of it all.

If you’re ever in Australia or specifically Sydney around Easter time I recommend you go to the Easter Show. The entry tickets are a little expensive (around $35-$40) but it includes your travel and it’s a unique experience you’ll love!

– ME

“If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands”
– Sydney Royal Easter Show

Leave a Reply

