Sherlock Review

Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are in a world of their own. I give full props to whoever cast these two because I could not see anyone else fulfilling the roles of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson any better than them. I loved it, I tend to love everything TV and film that I review simply because either they’ve been recommended to me by people who know I’ll love it, or I watch previews/read synopses about the production and have an inclining I will enjoy it. This case it was my brother who put it on a list of things I must do/play/watch for him. Am I the only one who has a sibling like this? It first started with me watching the TV show 24 starring Kiefer Sutherland as Jack Bauer, but starting it at season 4, so needless to say he put seasons 1-3 on that list. Along with some other things, one of which was this series. It was something I put off because the hour and a half duration seemed too much for me to fit into my schedule (by this I mean all the other YouTube and TV shows and movies I have to watch). Alas, I got around to it last month and was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it.

By the time I started watching the episodes the fourth season was finishing up, so I watched an episode every other night. I think this helped in me enjoying the series, I didn’t have to wait the two year gaps to find out if Sherlock had really died. It seemed almost impossible for him to die, but there is that little fact that the entire show is in his name. What would the next seasons be about?

The production, music, actors, sets they were all second to none. Really exceptional viewing and loved the different locations, which I presume were all in the UK, so it was fun to see the country side and city scape. The only thing that I felt a little down by was one or two of the ‘cases’ the stories. The one I was most not entertained by was probably Season 2, Episode 2 ‘The Hounds of Baskerville‘. I just wasn’t a big fan of the ‘solution’ if you will, that it was all a hallucination by the gas. I don’t know just not my favourite.

On the other hand two episodes I loved were Season 3, Episode 2 ‘The Sign of Three‘ and Season 4, Episode 3 ‘The Final Problem‘. The Sign of Three was the episode where John and Mary got married and it was so perfect. Seeing the emotional side to Sherlock but then of course a case was not too far away. And The Final Problem – was it the last ever episode of Sherlock? If it is I won’t be too disappointed because this episode was full. So many twists and turns and the music! I was so shocked by the sister story line because I don’t think I’ve ever heard of it. Is that a new twist or was it present in the Arthur Conan Doyle series? Let me know … if you know.

Overall, it’s a great series and the hour and a half duration didn’t even bother me in the end because they honestly felt like an hour long episode. If you love detective type stories watch this Sherlock adaptation I promise Cumberbatch and Freeman won’t disappoint.

-ME

“I want to break free”
– Queen

 

 

Leave a Reply

