Songs of March 2017

  • Ed Sheeran – Nancy Mulligan; This is the one song that has stuck out to me on his new album Divide. It’s so Irish I love it! It reminds me of an Irish friend I had when I was younger and she taught me how to Irish dance and so sometimes when this song comes on I can’t help but dance.
  • Amy Lee – Speak To Me; I am an Evanescence fan from way back and always wanted her to release new songs and finally she has. This song is so haunting, I believe it is for a movie and hence the large budget on the video clip. Her voice is just so angelic and soothing.
  • Charlie Puth – Does It Feel; I think Charlie makes it on these monthly lists every time, I’m sorry I can’t help it I obviously love his music. It’s catchy (as always) but his songs always feel like they combine genres. And one word… falsetto.
  • Panic! At The Disco – Death of a Bachelor; I told my brother he should listen to this song because I knew he’d love it, I described it to him as Panic! meets Michael Buble. It’s Punk meets Jazz and it’s so weird but works so well. Brendon Urie is such an underrated singer, this song showcases his talent really well.
  • Jax Jones Feat. Raye – You Don’t Know Me; Love the chorus! I haven’t heard the verses enough to be in love with the whole song. It reminds me of the Afrojack song a few years back ‘Take Over Control‘, which leads to me remembering my journeys to uni with my friend when we would listen to it on repeat for the 20-25min trip.
  • The Chainsmokers Feat. Coldplay – Something Just Like This; I feel like The Chainsmokers use the same beat/ very similar to all their songs which is an interesting style and I can’t think of a band that’s done that before. Because essentially you’re creating various song lyrics for the same beat. This one paired up with Coldplay is just brilliant, feels like a roadtrip anthem.
  • Zedd & Alessia Cara – Stay; Simple and clean is the way I would describe this. Easy on the ears and Alessia as always is impeccable. I heard her in an interview say in this collaboration she asked Zedd if she could make a few changes in the verses and he agreed. That to me shows true artistry, she wants only the best and will stand up when she thinks something can be done better.
  • Amy Shark – Adore; I am definitely late to the party on this one. An Aussie girl, real indie vibe to the song – Lorde-esq. All day I’ve been singing the only line I know “I adore you”. But the whole song is the kind of indie I really enjoy, with a hint of pop. And she looks like Kate Middleton.
  • Nate Ruess – Great Big Storm; Also late on this one. Heard it on TV performed live, took down the name of the song (because I didn’t know if it was just Nate or Fun) and searched it later that night. Really great message and personally I was relating to it a lot when I heard it. Miss the band Fun, Nate’s voice is so interesting and has layers my ears love.
  • Rag ‘n’ Bone Man – Human; What a great deep voice, great message of remembering we’re all human especially when we get annoyed over little things. Love the punch the chorus gives but how it’s still smooth.

– ME

“Never had I seen such beauty before”
– Ed Sheeran

Leave a Reply

