Sweetness Overload?

There’s a new sweet craze that’s been very apparent in Australia for the past 6-12 months and that is sweetening already sweetened baked goods. I’d love to know if this is a world wide craze or if we Aussie’s just love to indulge, so do let me know.

The most popular item I can think of is the new and improved doughnut. Now I know what you’re thinking, “how can you possibly improve a doughnut?” Well I’m here to tell you. Basically there are many new takes on a classic doughnut, what was once a jam or custard filled doughnut now stems to Nutella filled! Yes you heard right, it’s a good 2-3 tablespoons of pure Nutella inside a sugar coated doughnut ball. Then you have your ‘cronut’ which is a pastry inspired doughnut – it is actually quite good. This type is usually topped with chocolate and then with a confectionery so maybe Twix, Snickers, Oreo, MnMs the list LITERALLY goes on.

This has now moved on to the classic Candy Apple and even Hot Cross Buns! I’m all for sweet food, I mean I practically live for desserts, but I think we should tone it down a lot! It’s completely unnecessary, and if you are eating these things on a daily basis rather than a once in a blue moon treat, that’s where the danger comes into it. Like they say, everything in moderation, right?

Let me know what you think about these sweet treats, and if you’ve ever tried one!

– ME

“Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down”
– Mary Poppins

Leave a Reply

