Bruce Springsteen Concert

I’ve talked before about concerts and how much I love the atmosphere they create, on Tuesday night I unexpectedly went to see Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band in Sydney, I know only a handful of his songs but that didn’t matter because the energy of the crowd and band covered the rest.

Some people may think you need to know every word of every song of the band or artist you’re going to see in concert, throw that thought away! It’s so not true. Of course if you know and love all the songs the experience will be that much better, but if you only know one or two songs and think you ‘don’t deserve’ to go I’m here to tell you GO! The energy and liveliness in the room will have you jumping out of your seat and enjoying new songs, it’s the best way to find new music from a band or artist you already like.

Back to Bruce! I had heard that his concerts are one of the best in the world, and I can confirm it is the case. He and his band are one of the most hard-working groups I’ve seen. Rarely was there a pause between songs, they would turn around to get a guitar changed and be back and onto the next song, there was an insanely long distant crowd surfing, engaging all section of the audience and high energy. I keep using the word energy but that’s the one thing that stood out to me. I would argue the sound was a bit too loud, had they turned down the instruments just the slightest I would have understood the lyrics a little bit better and be able to hear myself think, but I mean it’s a concert I shouldn’t complain about sound.

Definitely an experience I will remember for a while and a world class performance. Not to mention the most on-time performer I’ve seen live, only 20 minutes after the start time!

 -ME 

“You can’t start a fire, you can’t start a fire without a spark”
– Bruce Springsteen

Leave a Reply

