Concerts

“This is your first concert?” Those are the words from my friends’ sister that I remember so clearly when I was 18. Yes, I was 18 when I went to my first concert and when she asked me that I wondered why she sounded so shocked, later that night, after the concert I realised why. They are such an escape! From that night I knew concerts is what I would spend my money on, some people travel, buy designer brands, cars, phones, makeup but me I buy musical experiences.

Since then I have been to a total of 9 concerts (in 5 years – so more than one a year). I’ve been lucky enough to see; Miley Cyrus, Ed Sheeran, Coldplay, One Direction, Demi Lovato, Sam Smith, The Wombats, The Temper Trap and on Tuesday night I went to see Coldplay again, and I can say that Coldplay is definitely a band you want to see live.

Coldplay are natural entertainers and you get more for your money than other concerts in my eyes. I went with a friend which had previously seen Coldplay too, so we were excited to see some small freebies again, a ‘Love’ pin and again a bracelet which flashes throughout the concert. But that’s not all the excitement. My friend and I knew from the previous concert 4 years ago + searching the worlds of Twitter and Instagram that there was a strong possibility of a B or C Stage. This is a stage where the band will come out and perform one or two songs and be a bit closer to those at the back. We had standing tickets in the second half of the field so we weren’t close to the main stage but as we walked around the stadium we saw something that looked A LOT like a C Stage, how did it look like a C Stage? I hear you ask – there was a box that said C- Stage cords! So we stood next to it the entire night with only a row of one person deep we were so close. Throughout the night we had fireworks, confetti (lots of it), smoke machines, big balloons bouncing across the stadium and eventually…Coldplay on C-Stage right in front of us. I couldn’t believe how lucky we were. My favourite thing about all concerts is when the band or artist will stop the music and it’s only the crowd singing along, I particularly love this during a Coldplay song because the crowd is so loud and you literally get goosebumps.

If you love Coldplay or even just kind of like their big hits you definitely should go to their concert. They always play the big hits like – Yellow, Fix You, The Scientist, Paradise, A Sky Full of Stars, Charlie Brown (one of my favourites) and you’ll hear some of their newer stuff too like – Up & Up, Adventure of A Lifetime and Everglow. And a special mention goes to Chris Martin playing Everglow live because it was the song I was most excited to hear and he did it amazingly!

If you get the chance to see them live take it! And you should go for a standing ticket because you feel immersed in all the fanfare and it’s incredible. The ‘moshpit’ so to speak isn’t even too bad, I can sometime become anxious in tight, close spaces but there’s generally good room, it get’s a little close when people start jumping but other than that it was perfectly fine, and I highly recommend it. Even if you don’t like Coldplay and like some other band but haven’t been to a concert in your life, or it’s been a while. Go to your country’s/states ticket agency and find a concert you would like to go to and GO! It’s such an escape and for 2 hours you forget everything and enjoy some really good music.

If you’d like me to talk about some other concerts I’ve been to let me know!

– ME

“We’ll run wild, we’ll be glowing in the dark”
– Coldplay

Leave a Reply

